Something finished, something started.

14 Feb

So I finished the sweater for my dog just in time to take her for a walk in the rain. The weather has been a little warmer here where I live and so I have decided to start my walking routine again. My husband has started walking with me. We seriously need to start losing weight. But beyond that, I started a pair of socks for my mother-in-law. They are a simple sock pattern nothing fancy in the way of patterning because of the colors. I purchased a sock yarn in the colors of her favorite football team, (American football, not real football if you are from anywhere except America,) the Seattle Seahawks. It is this really wonderful yarn called “Color Dance Yarns” from Poulsbo, Washington and the web site is www.colordanceyarns.com, the color is called “12th Man”. I recently went to their web site and they didn’t have anything for sale but I sent them a request and I will let you all know what their reply is when it comes. I found the yarn at my local yarn store right before the Super bowl. It is 80% Superwash Merino and 20% Nylon and contains 420 yards or 100g with a gauge of approximately 7 stitches to the inch on US size 1 needles.

I started both socks at the same time and I am using US size 2 Karbonz. I really like the way the three colors create stripes but so far there is no pooling or flashing or anything else just stripes of color. I must have cat on the perfect “magic number” of stitches in just the right place of the color repeats to make this happen and it was not done on purpose. Anyway, I am happy with how the socks are currently coming along.

I intend to finish these socks and keep working to finish other previously started projects and will post pictures and descriptions of them as they are finished.

I hope you all have a wonderful day and a very Happy Valentines Day.

Leave a Reply

